TAPID (Transplantation and PID) Collaboration

TAPID is an important and ongoing expert collaboration facilitated by ASCIA, between clinical immunologists, transplant physicians and international experts.  Dr Theresa Cole is the TAPID coordinator and Chair of the ASCIA Immunodeficiency committee. TAPID members and publications are listed below. 

The main objective of TAPID is to enable complex PID and transplantation cases to be discussed in a confidential expert forum and to publish guidelines. Two publications have been developed as a result of this project and it is our intention to develop more publications in future. 

The TAPID project has been supported by unrestricted educational grants from CSL Behring since 2013.

TAPID Meetings

The TAPID project was initiated in May 2013, and since then there have been face to face meetings in February 2014, May 2017, May 2018 and May 2019. 

The next face to face TAPID meeting was scheduled for 23rd to 24th May 2020 in Melbourne, and this has been postponed to 22nd to 23rd May 2021, at the Larwill Hotel in Melbourne. In the meantime we will continue with monthly TAPID teleconferences (see schedule below), if there are cases for discussion. 

TAPID teleconferences are held each month. This case form needs to be completed for every deidentified case to be discussed.  pdfTAPID Case Discussion Form 202095.77 KB

Videoconference dates for 2020 are as follows:

15th January 2020
19th February 2020
18th March 2020
15th April 2020
20th May 2020 (The face to face meeting scheduled for May 2020 is postponed to 22nd-23rd May 2021)
17th June 2020
15th July 2020
19th August 2020
16th September 2020
21st October 2020
18th November 2020
16th December 2020
TAPID Publications

Diagnosis and Management of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID) in Australia and New Zealand: A TAPID Consensus Guideline outlines the recommendations from the ASCIA TAPID group for the diagnosis and management of patients with SCID. It also provides a proposed framework for the early investigation, management and supportive care prior to Haematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT), in the anticipation of introduction of routine newborn screening (NBS) for SCID in Australia. This Guideline was developed by the ASCIA TAPID Group in collaboration with ANZCHOG, the Australian & New Zealand Children Haematology/Oncology Group and is available at www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/ascia-guidelines-SCID-TAPID

Poster 48: ASCIA Transplantation and Primary Immunodeficiency (TAPID) project was displayed at the ASCIA 2018 Conference in Canberra and the abstract was published online in the Internal Medicine Journal: 

TAPID Members

There are currently 116 TAPID members (73 ASCIA members and 43 non-ASCIA members) who are listed below.

ASCIA members (73)

Dr Fuad Abbas WA
Dr Rani Bhatia NSW
Dr Annaliesse Blincoe NZ
Dr Julian Bosco VIC
Dr Jack Bourke WA
Dr Tim Brettig VIC
Dr Maia Brewerton NZ
Dr Shannon Brothers NZ
Prof Dianne Campbell NSW
Dr Damien Chan SA
Dr Kritika Chetty VIC
Dr Abigail Cheung SA
Dr Sharon Choo VIC
Dr Theresa Cole VIC
Dr Theo DeMalmanche NSW
Prof Jo Douglass VIC
Dr Luke Droney QLD
Ms Rachael Dunn WA
Dr Lara Ford NSW
Dr Katie Frith NSW
Dr David Gillis QLD
Dr Paul Gray NSW
Dr Kuang-Chih Hsiao NZ
Dr Peter Hsu NSW
Dr Benedicta Itotoh WA
Dr Henning Johannsen SA
A/Prof Alyson Kakakios OAM NSW
Dr Ashisha Kallukaran QLD
Dr Alisa Kane NSW
Dr Jovanka King WA
Dr Shruti Kohli NSW
Dr Kuang-Chih Hsiao NZ
Dr Michael Lane QLD
Dr Daman Langguth QLD
Dr Omega Leong VIC
Dr Ming-Wei Lin NSW
A/Prof Richard Loh WA
Dr Paxton Loke VIC
Prof Michaela Lucas WA
Dr Tracy Markus WA
Dr Jeremy McComish VIC
Dr Andrew McLean-Tooke WA
Dr Peter McNaughton QLD
Dr Sam Mehr VIC
Dr Mariana Melo QLD
Ms Natasha Moseley WA
Dr Mahila Namasivayam NSW
Dr Katherine Nicholls VIC
Dr Melissa Norman NSW
Dr Samar Ojaimi VIC
Dr Elize O'Reilly QLD
Dr Michael O'Sullivan WA
Dr Jane Peake QLD
Dr Alberto Pinzon QLD
Dr Kahn Preece NSW
Dr Patrick Quinn SA
Dr Christiane Remke WA
Dr Stephanie Richards VIC
Prof Peter Richmond WA
A/Prof Kristina Rueter WA
Dr Sabeena Selvarajah VIC
Dr Bella Shadur VIC
Dr Jan Sinclair NZ
Dr Charlotte Slade VIC
Dr Joanne Smart VIC
Ms Anna Sullivan QLD
Dr Shruti Swamy NSW
Dr Grace Thompson WA
Dr Gary Unglik VIC
Mr Ben Van Dort VIC
Dr Brynn Wainstein NSW
Dr Sophie Willcocks QLD
Dr Melanie Wong NSW
Prof John Ziegler AM NSW
Non-ASCIA members (43)
Mr Frank Alvaro NSW
Dr Angela Berkhout VIC
Dr Siobhan Burns UK
Dr Tina Carter WA
Dr Julia Clark QLD
Dr Catherine Cole WA
Dr Rachel Conyers VIC
Dr Graham Davies UK
Dr David Deambrosis NZ
Dr Mayank Dhamija WA
Dr Yean Ewe WA
Dr Jacqueline Fleming VIC
Dr David Foley WA
Dr Timothy Ford WA
Dr Chris Fraser QLD
Dr Melissa Gabriel NSW
Dr Andy Gennery UK
Dr Andrew Grigg VIC
Dr Nada Hamad NSW
Dr Laine Hosking VIC
Dr Elizabeth Kang USA
Dr Steven Keogh NSW
Dr Kylie Mason VIC
Dr Richard Mitchell NSW
Dr John Moore NSW
Dr Emma Morris UK
Dr Saravanan Muthusamy WA
Dr Leonie Naeije NZ
Dr Tracey O'Brien NSW
Dr Manika Pal SA
Dr Linny Phuong VIC
Dr Madeleine Powys NSW
Dr Tim Prestidge NZ
Dr Duncan Purtill WA
Dr Shanti Ramachandran WA
Dr David Routledge VIC
Dr Anthony Schwarer VIC
Dr Peter Shaw NSW
Dr Mary Slatter UK
Dr Trisha SooshayRaj QLD
Dr Heather Tapp SA
Dr Lochie Teague NZ
Dr Toby Trahair NSW

Content updated September 2020

Mod ASCIA Member
Donate to AIFA
go to NAS website
Member Login
ASCIA Update

Information for the community about allergic diseases, immunodeficiencies and other immune diseases.
See latest edition here...
Join our mailing list:


ASCIA is the peak professional body of clinical immunology and allergy in Australia and New Zealand
ASCIA promotes and advances the study and knowledge of allergy and other immune diseases

Quick Links


ASCIA is a registered trademark of the Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy. All content is subject to copyright for the Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy. Read more...

The content for the website is developed and approved by ASCIA Committee and ASCIA Working Party Members. Read more...

Disclaimer I Privacy

The ASCIA website is intended for use by ASCIA members, health professionals and the general public. The content provided is for education, communication and information purposes only and is not intended to replace or constitute medical advice or treatments. Read more...

ASCIA respects your privacy. Read our privacy policy here...

Sponsors | Advertising

ASCIA does not endorse products from sponsoring organisations, nor is it influenced by sponsoring organisations with regard to the content of education programs and websites. 

The ASCIA website does not accept advertising. Any link to a third-party website does not imply any endorsement by ASCIA.



This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information: verify here.